Would this make a good fume hood?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Geer-Scrapper

Hello
I have a chance to purchase a paint booth (I'm assuming it's for smaller parts) and was wondering if this would be relatively easy to convert over to a fume hood? I am still not ready to refine at this point as I am still learning the process and gathering materials to refine. I am just thinking down the road and the chances of me finding something like this again are slim. I do know it works and will find out more details about this unit when the owner calls me back. Just looking for opinions before I purchase. Thanks everyone!

Attachments

• image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    27 KB · Views: 254
I think it would be a bad investment.First it is too low,and you would have to bend over too close to the fumes to check your solutions.Second,you would be putting too much money in it to make it usable.Then you still have the metal vent pipe to replace with pvc,and the fan will quit in short order.Also you would need to build doors.
sorry for the bad news,but that's my opinion.
john

You can pick up used fume hoods fairly inexpensively that have a baked coating on the metal that make them corrosive resistant. I use two like this and a third that is made of a plastic specifically intended to resist corrosive gases, etc.

The real issue is not n properly evacuating these gases. Properly evacuated or having the proper airflow, face flow, etc when you pull the curtain down will cause the corrosive gases to move upward. Logically, if you have constant low pressure on the inside, constant airflow, there should never exist a situation where gases build up inside the hood itself. Of they were, you couldn't or would not rather, want you hands anywhere on the inside of the hood.