Old Nintendo games

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
A

Anonymous

Hi all! This is my first time posting, and just wanted to say that this is a fantastic place to learn and is probably one of the best uses of a forum I have seen on the internet.

So today a friend gave me an old Nintendo (NES, the kind from 1985) and a few games that went along with it to feed my gold recovery habit. When I opened up one of the games I was greeted to the first picture below. Obviously the fingers are something to harvest, but I wanted to know if the area annotated in the second picture (the area with the bright pink line, and the parts that it connects to) would have any gold underneath the green mask? I don't know if there would be any reason for the metal underneath to be plated with gold, but I would be happy to be wrong. I did scratch away a small portion of the green mask but couldn't really tell if there was any gold underneath (figured that since the gold layer is so thin, I would have probably scratched that off too).

Also, if there is gold underneath, what is the best method for extracting it?

Thanks for any help!

Attachments

• nintendo_game_annotation.jpg
    nintendo_game_annotation.jpg
    224.6 KB · Views: 1,412
  • nintendo_game.jpg
    nintendo_game.jpg
    225.7 KB · Views: 1,412
These carts still sell for $3 to $5 depending upon which game they are (if they work).

We just sold an orig nintindo (the 8 bit thing), with 4 controllers, the IR remote station (to run 4 controllers at once), and 6 carts for $65. Had a garage sale, the nintindo was listed in the craigs list add, and we got a phone call on it, and sold it the night before. At the sale, there were about a dozen people looking for it.