A little different photograpahy waste

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MGH

Hi all, I’m looking for some help here. Sorry for the long post - just wanting to give as much information as possible.

I have this material in hand on which I can make an offer to toll refine. At the moment, it doesn't look like a very profitable endeavor unless I can get some better insight into what this material is and how best to process it.

Here’s what I know. Obviously there are some important details missing, but this is all I have to go on besides additional testing I could do myself. I’ll put quotes around phrases that I have no direct knowledge of, that are simply what I was told.

A local metals buyer was provided the material. He was told that it was photography waste, “the stuff from the trap under the sink”. Unlike most photography wastes discussed on the forum, this is already a dry solid. Both the owner of the material and the local buyer knew enough to understand that it should contain some amount of silver. It is mostly brown, and includes fine dust and larger chucks. The chunks are very porous and brittle, and can be broken by hand.

Initially there was a 5 gallon bucket full of material like what is shown in the picture below. The local buyer took it to NTR where he says they filled a crucible, melted it, poured it into a mold, and out came “about $900 worth of silver. There was a thick slag on top, but the silver tested at 99% pure”. I estimate that to be about 52 ounces. I asked if he knew the weight of material that was loaded into the crucible but he didn’t know. Still at NTR, they filled another crucible to melt, but this time the material just gassed and sputtered, and didn't really melt. That NTR office sent the material to the Dallas location, but they declined to work with it altogether (I don’t know if they even tried).