A question on AR

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

danny987

Okay i'm no expert so correct me if im wrong. The recipe for aqua regia is 1 part nitric acid to 3 parts hydrochloric acid. Searching online i can find no where that sells either of those in pure form. So what percentage of purity do you use?

The most concentrated you'll find HCl is 38.5%, that's about it's maximum concentration in water.

You also won't find 100% nitric acid, or even red fuming nitric acid (90%) as those have a limited shelf life and are orders of magnitude more dangerous than normal ~65% nitric.

There's an exact formula for aqua regia, but generally speaking 1 part concentrated nitric to 3 or 4 parts concentrated HCl is fine.

If you really want to get fancy, then we'll have to go into molarity and molar equivalents per unit of solution. If you want to go there, let me know. Otherwise, just stick with dissolving stuff with HCl and adding nitric as needed. It's what Chris does, and it does work and yes, he is a real professional. If you do it right, you can even save a step or reduce the time a step would normally take.

Thanks, Lou. I've pushed this method since day one. You're the first person, besides Harold, to understand its value and I really appreciate it. Considering your background, I truly value your acknowledgment.

Yes, treating the 2 acids as separate acids, instead of premixing them, really does work better. This becomes very important when refining karat gold, dental gold, or gold powder derived from any another type of gold bearing scrap.