Absolute newbie - with high grade ore

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DrLiberty

I am a vary busy man. I have two teenage kids, who live with me full time.
I am a single dad. One of my hobbies is rockhounding and prospecting. The hobby runs in my family.

I came to inherit an family heirlom, to wit; a Great Uncle's rock collection. One of the specimens is Crystalline, ( I think mostly rhyolite) with veins of what is unmistakeable a soft, heavy, malleable shiny yellow metal. By careful dissemination with dental picks and a chisel, I have accumulated (so far) about 2 oz of gold dust, along with rather small bits and pieces of the crystal. Also a much smaller quantity chalky grey metal, possibly a PGP metal. In addition there is a good chance of silver content. All mixed together. Unable to find a commmercial smelter who will accept what is essentially high grade ore sands, I find myself compelled to refine the gold myself. I am apprehensive; it seems the chemicals used to make Aqua Regia and the preciptiate the gold, are quite hazardous. I do believe I am capable, but never having done this I at least would like some close advice. While at some point in the near future I will have space to set up small refining, that time is not now. I have a rather large sample still left to pick over, and have an immediate need for cash flow. So, in the short - If any other forum memebers are close to Portland Or, USA and have lab equipment, acids, precipitates, etc I will give you 15% of whatever we can refine, plus cost of chemicals, for you to show me how to do it safely...