adapt process according to base metal?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lanfear

Hi guys. I'm new to this, so bear with me =) I have looked around, and the one question I can't seem to find an answer to is just that. Do you have to adapt you chemical processing according to the base metal?
Example: I have stripped 20 motherboards and have an accumulation of gold plated metals. Is there one process that can help me strip these?

There is no single tool in your refiners toolbox that works for every scrap type. Each has specific strong and weak points. It's best to work with small samples of each type of scrap and determine which reagent is best for your type of scrap. Diluted nitric acid works great on high copper and silver, but is a pain (or even worthless) if tin, stainless, or certain plastics are present. Acid Peroxide works good for finely divided gold and removing copper based material, but it's relatively slow. HCl (muriatic acid) works great on iron and tin based scrap. Aqua Regia (AR) is great for quick dissolving of metallic gold. The sulfuric stripping cell works great on medium to large sized gold plated objects.

Think of the various refining methods as tools in your household tool box. Is there a single tool in that household box that works for all jobs? No.

Steve

Thank you. Then it seems that the sulfuric stripping cell is the best method of stripping various gold plated metals. Is there any negative effects in this process?

lanfear said:
Thank you. Then it seems that the sulfuric stripping cell is the best method of stripping various gold plated metals. Is there any negative effects in this process?
Well,