Ammonium Chloride - What Grade is needed for refining?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kadriver

I am starting to stock up on some chemicals to begin recovering platinum and palladium from my silver cell slims and a catalytic converter or two.

I would like to buy some ammonium chloride and some sodium chlorate.

As a beginner, I would like to get recommendations from the forum as to what grades of these chemicals should be purchased (reagent, lab grade, food grade, purity, etc)?

What quantities of these chemicals should be aquired initially?

Where is the best source of supply? Is there a local source such as Lowes, Pool Suppliers or Ace Hardware Stores where some of these chemicals may be found?

Thank you - kadriver

Purchased my sodium chlorate form this fellow naclo2009 , ships from Turkey surface mail.

I bought 4 lbs from him, in 12 months half evaporated away.

Ammonium chloride food grade works fine, no issues with chemical loss after sitting for an extended time.

Purchased 1 lb of potassium dichromate 99.8% off of ebay.

Hope this helps.

Ammonium chloride can be made from household ammonia and HCl, (pH neutral) and evaporated to salts; Laser Steve posted a procedure years ago,
Ammonium chloride was also used to clean soldering irons (sold in blocks) try hardware or welding supply house.

You may find other sources but here is where I get many of my supply's, including sodium chlorate (I have not tried Tim's cell to make it yet).
I have seen sodium chlorate in weed killer before (did not try it, do not remember brand),

http://www.actionmining.com/Catalog.PDF

rusty - I think I seen the same listing for the potassium dichromate 99.8%

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Potassium-Dichromate-99-8-Lab-Chemical-1-lb-/250956237109?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3a6e284935

What kind of container did it come in?

Thank you

kadriver said: