AP Color Indication

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ddelozier

Im new to Gold recovery, and i've done several small batches. I have not moved past seperating the gold foils from the computer components. Im saving up my foils/dust.

I am using a standard A/P Solution
HCL covering the the material to be stripped off, then H202 in small increments untill the solution goes
emerald green. Air bubbler via small aquarium pump providing added oxygen and liquid circulation.

For the most part, every batch has done the same, The solution gets progressively darker green until it is nearly opaque. But Recently i have had 2 batches go very sideways on me. The A/P Solution in 1 changed over an 8 hour period from a lovely emerald green to a clear brown stained almost TAN color. Another batch(5 going at once FYI), the A/P went from Emerald green to nearly Florescent BLUE. I was wandering if anyone could tell me what those colors mean, and if there is a color chart anywhere that lists what various colors in the A/P Solution might mean in the way of progress(Good, leave it alone), stalled(needs attention), and Failed(something went really wrong)

Thank you for your time.

Devin

I reuse my AP solution and have been for years now. When I don't use it
for a while, I just leave it in a five gallon plastic container with the lid
on loosely and it eventually gets back to the emerald green color again.

When I am using it on gold fingers, it is always a dark brown color. I will
from time to time add in some fresh HCL but I never add any H2O2 as it
is not needed anymore.

The clear/brownish color could indicate that something is cementing the copper out of solution. My first suspect would be iron, as in kovar pins, but there are other metals that could be suspect.