AP for dissolving larger quantities of base metals.

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

youngleo

I was wondering if it was economical to dissolve larger amounts of base metals using AP? I have never used this method (or any other method for that matter) but I did take organic chemistry in college. From viewing Steve's website, I know that it is effective on dissolving a small amount from fingers but will that same method work for greater amounts? Like 10x, 100x and 1000x the values of base metal? I have seen that some users mention reusing the AP solution. If this is possible, what methods has anyone had success using? Perhaps the HOH can be re-oxygenated and the Cu can be precipitated out periodically to rejuvenate the solution? Perhaps there is a better method? I am a newbie and am interested in this as a hobby. I am not a newbie to chemistry. I am willing to acquire most lab equipment that I would need and could make almost anything else. Thanks for your time in advance.

PS. If a thread already exists on this subject, I apologize. Please point me in the right direction.

What chemicals you use is going to depend on what type of items you are going to process. Diffrent items require diffrent types of processing.

You can rejuvinae AP by putting the copper saturated soultion in a bucket with steel. The a lot of the copper will cement out because of the steel. When this is done you can bubble air thru the solution to add oxygen to make the solution reusable. Or add more peroxide when you are ready to reuse the solution.

Smaller batches are preferred to large batches till experience is obtained in the use of the chemicals so that you know what your solutions are doing and what reactions are taking place.

Paitence is a virtue here. 8)