AP waste

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

oldtimmer

My first 5 gal bucket of AP waste went according to plans. Copper to drop any thing missed followed by iron to drop the copper. Both buckets have been used to recover fingers from boards. Both of the solutions look like real dark express coffee.

I now have 2 more 5 gal buckets of AP waste. I have done the copper and recovered a small amount of black mud/slime. I have an iron bar in each of the two buckets, one for 5 days, one for three days. On one, I can see a very small amount of copper on the top of the iron bar, near the surface. The bottom 90% as well as the other bar in the second bucket are covered with a black slime and no copper is being dropped.

What do I need to do to get the copper to drop?

I concur with more surface area. I have done the same thing recently, as I am just beginning myself. I used my dremel grindings from another toy project so I have alot of surface area, it seems to be working fine. I havent looked at it much though.

try the big aluminum heat sinks from the P2 or P3 slot 1 processor. They have lots of surface area and seem to drop the copper very well.

Try using steel wool pads (HomeDepot, paint section). It has minimum of 1000x more available surface area.

Also, before you drop the copper in the bucket, weigh it first. Then weigh out the steel wool a few grams heavier and that should give you enough iron for complete cementation.

Depending on your solution's acidity, processing time could be in minutes, instead of hours/days.

Good luck,

John

It's just my opinion but for processing wastes it's better if you don't have to buy anything or don't use anything with a decent scrap value like aluminum. Aluminum is fast sometimes too fast. If you do use aluminum be certain to have plenty of head space as it will foam plenty.