Aqua Regia vs. Acid Peroxide.

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NuggetHuntingFool

I'm curious as to why you guys use Acid Peroxide instead of Aqua Regia in the first step (most of you).

It seems to me that Aqua Regia skips a step in the process by dissolving the gold in step #1. Whereas with Acid Peroxide you have to strip the foils, then dissolve them with Acid/Chlorine in step #2.

Is it a safety thing?
Cost?
Efficiency??

I'm still learning, but I hope this isn't too "green" of a question.

Thanks

Sorry moderators. I didn't realize there was a "Chemical Processes" section that would have been more appropriate for this question.

Please move if you desire.

Thanks.

NHF,

AP removes the base metals and leaves the majority of the gold intact. This makes for cleaner gold once it is dissolved and uses zero nitric acid (expensive and hazardous). It takes a lot less AR (or HCl-Cl ) to dissolve the small amount of foils after removing the base metals and provides for cleaner gold precipitations.

Steve

NuggetHuntingFool said:
Is it a safety thing?
Smart people don't recover gold with AR unless there's a good reason to do so. Eliminating base metals is always in your best interest, and that normally is not accomplished with AR. If you were to recover values from non-metallic objects, where the substrate does not become a part of the solution, AR is generally acceptable. When values are plated over base metals, it's not a good idea at all.