AR Crystallized on 3xboil down

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
A

Anonymous

im just starting out, and have been surfing the forums for awhile now, have thumbed through some of hokes book,. which i intend to read more of tonight, but my question is,. i mixed up some AR 120ml Hcl with 2 tbs of sodium nitrate i mixed a small amount of hot water with the sodium nitrate before adding the Hcl to predissolve it a little,. i ended up with 1500ml of AR that i added 10oz of my material too,. it looks as though it had a really high copper content as well as i know it had decent gold in it, do to the fact i could see it,. it all disolved in the AR as it was supossed too,. was a really dark royal green,. almost black if you didnt swirl it some or hold it close to a light,. all appeared great, i assumed,. i had messed around before in the past on a different batch,. and tried to use Urea to de noxx the AR and it was a nightmare,.so i decided to do as many suggest and skip the Urea,. and do the 3xboil down method this time,. the problem i have though,. is i started with 1500ml,. boiled,..lightly, just a small simmer, over a flame, down to about 500ml,. all still looked fine,. just got alot darker green,. i had to leave for awhile so i shut off my heat,. and when i came back about 4-5 hours later, my AR had almost all turned to a large clump of white crystal,. had a small amount of dark green AR above, and through it,. it was kinda soft, and could be moved around with a glass stir rod,. i figured it would reconstitute back if i went ahead and added the 1000ml of hcl to it to bring it back to original volume to get ready to reboil for the second time,. but it hasnt,. now i have like 500ml of white crystal and 1000ml of dark dark green AR above it,. i havent tried heating it yet