AR very slow, precipitation non selective

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
A

Anonymous

Hello,

It is my first time trying to refine gold. I wonder where I have made mistakes:

I took 1 oz og 16kt gold that originated from one of mines in South America. I have flaked it by pouring into water. I have put it in 30 ml of nitiric acid (50% concentration) for 30 minutes (no visible reaction). Then I added 120 ml of muratic acid (20-25% concentration) and the soludion turned yellowish but and again no visible reaction happened, no fuming, nothing. I left it overnight and in the morning everything remaigned unchanged. Tested the solution with precious metal detection liquid from Shor and no gold in solution.