Basic gold recovery?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rich_2137

Hi all
Im new to this but have been looking to do this for the past few months so finally ive decided to go for it, I ordered all the equipment needed, so I get this straight please correct me if im wrong as I don't want to mess this up thank you, any tips wecome

1) place a 1:3 ratio mix of nitric acid and hydrochloric acid
2) pour the mix over my electronics
3) leave to react for around 2 hours
4) pour off the remaining acid through a filter into a clean beaker
5) add a precipitant to the mix(im using Sodium Metabisulphite)
6) Leave for about 12 hours??
7) pour off the acid and neutralise trying not to disturb the gold at the bottom
8 ) Wash the gold with water 3-4 times and dry?
9 ) melt down into a button

Im not sure if this the perfect way but as a beginner have I got the right idea?
any help would be most helpful
regards
Richard

Heres a few pics on what im processing
IMG_20120128_103226-1.jpg

IMG_20120128_103300-1.jpg

IMG_20120128_103240-1.jpg

Basically you have it all wrong.
Keep collecting your gold and spend some time on here reading and learning all the best methods and processes to recover and refine your values.
Start by downloading C.M.Hoke and read until it makes sense also download the forum handbooks and read and visit lazersteves site and also Sams. Read the safety section and then maybe your ready to start your refining.
If you proceed as per your plan your going to end up with one big mess that will take sometime to recover and then refine properly.

Hi Richard!
You wrote:
"Im not sure if this the perfect way but as a beginner have I got the right idea?"

If you're not sure, don't start! Like Nick stated: "you got it ALL wrong!"