Building large electrolytic cell for silver

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pljohnson

Ive searched and searched to no avail after watchin lazersteves video on Silver Refining, but theres too much junk in my search results. Im a newbie and am looking to set up a larger thum cell, but have no clue as to what im doing. Any advice or links would be appreciated. And thanks in advance for your patience.

You should provide a lot more information to get meaningful answers. What type of silver do you plan on purifying? How much of it do you want to run, how often? Do you have a furnace? Etc., etc.

I plan on purifying .925 sterling or .90 coins. I want to be able to put in more than just a few ounces at a time. Maybe 6-16oz at a time and be able to purify at least a lb a day. What I dont want to do is have to do small amounts over and over. I have a melting furnace on the way and nitric acid, thats about it for now. Waiting to see all the other items i will need besides molds and such. Im guessing Ill need 2 crucibles, one for sterling and the other for pure silver. Thanks for your time.

GSP built and ran plenty of large silver cells and his book may be the bible your looking for it's for sale here on the forum, I think it's available through Lasersteves site.
It's also on the bottom of his posts.

My book tells how to operate a silver cell but it doesn't give exact plans for building one. Besides operation, I think it gave overall dimensions and a sketch. The sketch is also here.

http://www.goldrefiningforum.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=39&t=5195&p=44531&hilit=thum#p44531