Can magnesium be used instead of zinc for cementing?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

g_axelsson

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Hi!

I have a friend that bought two sacrificial zinc anodes for me. When he handed them over it turned out to be magnesium instead of zinc.
My question is can I use magnesium instead of zinc for cementing PGM metals or should I get rid of the Mg anodes and hunt for zinc instead?

I searched the forum but found only seven posts that were relevant and mentioned "zinc or magnesium" for cementing Pd and Rh. One by GSP mentioning he could have used magnesium for recovery of rhodium from plating solution.

My plan is to turn it into magnesium shavings if I can use it. I got a jar with tea-colored solution that seems to contain Pd and Pt after I dropped gold from it. It comes from some dental materials I've been saving for 20 years.

/Göran

Thanks! Then if no one else stops me I'll turn one of the bars into Mg shavings on the mill at the workshop on Monday.

/Göran

Be careful as you work with magnesium. Have you ever seen magnesium ribbon burn? Incredibly bright white light due to the extreme high temperature at which it burns. It does take a bit of heat to get it going, but once it's lit you could have quite a flash!

If I were to undertake such a project, I would probably clear my shavings away from the workpiece often. If something does occur to ignite it, the less shavings on the pile the better.

Dave

Thanks for the advice, I'm going to put up barriers of paper around the vice so I don't mix it with any dirt and I will collect the shavings quite often, not letting it pile up.

Burning a magnesium ribbon was a common experiment in chemistry class so I'm familiar with it.