Carat gold refining with electricity

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Oneofthree

G'day. I'm new to this forum. I spent some time looking through the posts and couldn't find what I am looking for. I am a jeweler and I did quite a bit of silver refining few decades ago and some gold refining with aqua regia and sodium metabisulfite. Finally I gave my gold scraps to my neighbor who did an excellent job. Sometimes, when I came too early to pick up my gold, he was still scraping it from a white color (stainless steel? titanium?) metal plate size of the pack of cigarettes. It was obvious that he used some kind of electro-deposition. He would not have a conversation what process did he use. I do casting of PM for the jewelery industry and I want to refine the spills, small particles from sink trap and the main reason: my "tired" white carat gold. High quality casting requires adding freshly mixed gold at the 50-80% of the new material depending on the manufacturer. The process I am using leaves me with large amount of material once the product is cut off. The main components of the white alloys are gold ( 41.7 , 58.5 and 75%), nickel, copper, zink, sometimes silver and proprietary additives like silicon, manganese and antioxidants etc. I have means of inquarting with copper or silver and creating a plate of needed dimensions. I also have rectifier with adjustable voltage. All I am missing is the "know how ". I would really appreciate pointing me to posts or any other sources of the information and any hands-on experience advice. Thank you in advance. Best regards.
Oneofthree