Ceramic CPU Question

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Eclipse2854

First of all glad I found this site. I'm new to this so please be patient with me if I ask stupid questions.

A total Newbie here ans this is my 1st attempt and have 3 questions that would help out greatly.

I've been collecting a bunch of ceramic CPU's and have a different types (Pentiums, 486, Cyrix, 386, Sun UltraSpacs)

1. With ones with the gold tops, can that be added into the AR mix or should they be processed separately?

2. I believe that the Sun UltraSprac CPU's only have gold on the pins. Is this true?

3. Since they are not soldered, should they just be broken and processed with the other processors?

Thanks in advance

Welcome to the forum Eclipse! I'm afraid I don't have much experience with CPUs, so I'm not much help with which process may be the best for each type. AR isn't necessarily the best approach. Some of our other members may be able to suggest some threads that might be of help.

Dave

Likewise, I am not an expert on CPU's or other chips since I am starting on my first batch.

In my experience, every CPU I have seen has some gold on the pins. I have place several CPU's in my AP bucket with great results. The pins all came off as well as the gold plated (I think it's gold plated) cover piece. I found the cover pieces when I poured everything in my AP bucket into a filter. Also, it exposed a lot of the interconnecting wiring allowing a bunch of it wash off into the filter.