Cheap & Easy Deplating... Now What?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
A

Anonymous

While in college I used to work as a Lab Assistant in a Water & Soil Analytical lab.
The chemist there showed me a neat trick and I was able to replicate most of it at home, but now I'm stuck.
Let me explain what's been done and maybe someone can help me figure out what would be next.

To start with you need the following ingredients.

#1 non-iodized table salt, preferably without any whiteners, the point is to get it as close to straight NaCL as possible.
#2 1 cup or bowl, the shallower the better must be glass ceramic or plastic, (no metal!).
#3 A cheaply available power supply, typical walwart seems to be just fine. The one I choose was a 12v 750ma Negative Ground from an old cable modem that had long since died.
#4 Fresh coffee filters, the cheap kind, I get mine on buy one get one 200 for $1 specials.
#5 2 Alligator Clips (not strictly necessary but very nice to have)
#6 1 or more pieces of junk, gold plated jewelry.
#7 Hot Tap water.

Take the power supply, snip the end connector off. Strip the wires about 1/2inch or so and attach them to the alligator clips. The wire with the dotted line is typically the positive. By convention I attach the red clip to the positive & the black clip to the negative when I have colored clips.

Next take the cup and fill it 3/4s of the way up with hot tap water (distilled might work here too, but tap seems to be just fine).
Take a 1/4 tsp of the table salt and dissolve it in the water stirring until there is no more salt visible.
Take the items to be de-plated and attach them to the alligator clips, then attach the alligator clips to the cup, so that the item to be deplated is in the water as far as it can go, but do not let your clips touch the water directly (Otherwise they corrode badly and it can foul the solution).