complete noob, gold containing mud (pictures added)

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

electric

Hi, I have acquired some dense mud like stuff that almost certainly contains gold. You can see the flakes/specs/dust in it. We've been able to get alot of the water soluble and lightweight impurities out of the stuff using just basic water methods. Right now I have about a pill bottle's amount of dense, slightly refined (ie has gone through this water 'washing' several times) 'gold mud'. It's pretty heavy considering the volume of the pill bottle. I realize there is still some water weight in there at the moment as well as whatever other impurities it may contain. But nonetheless quite heavy for it's size.. (i take it that's a good sign)

For what it's worth, the stuff apparently came from the runoff of some sort of old gold operation that dates back to the 60's or so around here. This runoff was found between rocks and cracks/crevices at the site of the supposed operation. The person who gave this to me was walking around just for fun to see the place and noticed some specs in this runoff so we've been playing around with a bit of it for fun. It's a smooth feeling mud, not really gritty at all (maybe a bit before water methods), I wouldn't doubt that there is some sort of clay in the mix. It's very moldable if that makes sense.

Pretty much just looking for a point in the right direction. What could I do DIY at home style without getting into anything too expensive? I wouldn't know where to start. My first thought was just taking a torch to it and seeing if anything 'melts together' and hoping to burn off/vaporize impurities but that probably does not make sense. Should I be looking at chemical methods? mechanical/physical filtering? I have no clue what I'm doing... I could take a macro photo later on if that would help to show what I'm dealing with.