CopperIIChloride...Help

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rex01

Hello friends, I'm trying to prepare CUCL2 for my etching process but I'm having challenges.I'm using Samuel-a's method since I don't want to dissolve gold foils using hydrogen peroxide since this is my first time. I prepared Aqua Regia solution in the ratio of 20g HCL and 5g Nitric acid. Boiled for a while then stopped the heat to add 10g of clean copper,heat again then stopped heating and allowed it to cool to room temprature. At the end,the solution gained a green colour yet the copper did not dissolve into the solution. Please I'm I doing something wrong? and how do I make it right if yes? thanks. Rex

The process you are doing is wrong or rather waste of chemicals.

Read here in the forum more about Cu2Cl it only needs patience, HCL and air bubbler to make is work.

You could have just use the nitric your spent for the refining process.

edit due to double post sorry i dont know whats happening during submitting it seems not successful when in fact it was already posted already

There is NO NITRIC ACID in C2C (AP) process ! Cover your clean fingers in HCl and give it a 'splash' of Hydrogen Peroxide to get the process started. Then just keep bubbling air through. After a few days to a week you will have clean fibreglass and a whole lot of little gold foils floating around.

Okay guys, thanks. But what quantity of hydrogen peroxide and HCL should I use? the closed cut fingers weigh 180g. Also just to let you know I used the green solution hoping it was CuCl2 alongside HCL and applied air through an air bubbler but gold foil was etched for almost 2days.I think I did not prepare the cucl2 well (it's another process though) but I will use your process though. Thanks just tell me the quantity of chemicals needed..cheers. Rex

Thanks just tell me the quantity of chemicals needed