Finally feeling close to comfortable.

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Meh1

Ok...i've read hoke...taken notes...ive read the forums...taken notes...Ive been scrapping for awhile...Ive collected: copper, aluminum, steel, and brass...processed a couple hundred pounds of electronic scrap as far as I can saving for pm recovery...I have a few hundred pounds more to process (im an electrical engineering major...so this was all free stuff)...I have prepared close to a hundred cell phones for pm reclamation...and i have been investing in sterling and junk gold jewelry...I have everything I need chemical wise, except nitric (on the way..it will arrive within two weeks)...all the ppe (i have been painting cars for a living now for close to five years so i have a healthy respect for harsh chemicals), and additional glassware...all of this was done without starving myself IE all my bills are paid and i still have savings (full time job..plus scrapping on the side)...school is about to start again...so i will be working less...probably a little more time for scrapping...i think i finally feel comfortable enough to begin pm recovery...i would like to say that I do not think I know it all...but i feel "comfortable" with the AR process...could anyone give me advice?...what should you have been told when you first started doing this?...thanks in advance gentlemen and ladies...regards - meh

IMHO, that's an easy call. Pick ONE process and master it.

The consensus seems to be either acid peroxide (AP) for board fingers or Sulfuric cell for pins as simple processes to start with.

Take notes. Seek to improve your procedures. Search for particular hints or insights. Keep studying.