first time with bought nitric acid

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ericrm

thise is my first time with bought nitric acid
but this is realy not like what i was expected watch the picture and tell me what you think please, is this nitric acid free of chloride ,does i have added chloride from tap water ,i need to know because it is my first time and , for the price i paid if there is chloride in it i will be very piss...
IMG_0323.jpgIMG_0324.jpgIMG_0327.jpgIMG_0322.jpg

Nickel underplating the Gold. Looks somewhat like Copper Salts in color but more blue-green.

concentrated nitric can be yellow-tinted due to NOx fumes dissolved in it.
does concentrated nitric dissolve silver? I've always read you need to dilute it 1:1 with water before dissolving. for silver, it's better to use deionized/distilled water (tap water will have some chlorides in it)
I usually have to apply some heat to get the reaction started for dissolving sterling - silver is the least reactive metal that nitric alone will dissolve. Once started, the reaction is exothermic, so no more heat is usually needed until it's almost done.

Nitric is too strong, it needs water, to form HNO2 in solution, and too strong of nitric seems to passivate the silver.
Strong acids and dilute acid can react completely differently on metals.