First time with cellphones

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gary492

so this is my first time gold refing and i was wondering i have alot of cell phone boards and do i take the chips and other stuff off before putting in aqua regia or can i leave them on because i was going to take them put them in a beaker filled with hot water and sprinkle nitric acid on them is that right please help thank you guys are awesome

Hi Gary , how are tricks?
I hope your well!
There are different types of precious metal bearing materials inside a cellphone ( plated connectors and gold traces on boards , among others ) , and each have their own different methods of processing and recovery.
The usual advice here chief is to keep collecting and sorting your materials to process , and in the meanwhile do some reading both here in the forum and in the recomended books , and learn about the different types of materials and the different processes that will apply to each when it comes to recovering and refining your precious metals ( pm's ).
A highly recommended and easy to read book on the subject of the wet (chemical) refining of precious metals is available as a download from my sig line at the bottom of this post.
The book is a great place to gain a good understanding of some of the processes employed and the reactions that will occur ( look for 'C.M. Hoke' ).
If you throw all of your whole cellphone boards together into a pot of nitric or aqua regia you'll be setting yourself up for a headache , take the time to do some reading beforehand and it will pay off in the end , 8)
The really good part is if you do your homework and you still get stuck , there are some brilliant minds here with years of precious metals recovery and refining experience , they would more than likely be willing to help you with anything you might get stuck on.