First timer, big problems.

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Toadstool

Hi all, this is my first time trying to recover gold. I've run into an issue and am starting to panic. Basically, I have about three of the fiancee's butterknives worth of black powder in the bottom a jar, and I have dissolved gold in there as well. How do I separate gold from this huge mess?

Why butter knives? Are they silver? How did gold wind up in the solution with the butter knives?

My nitric acid/ hydrocholric acid mixture had a lot of green color in it. I saw something that said stainless steel would cement out copper. Apparently I had way to much HCl and it dissolved the stainless steel butterknives. At this point I'm just trying to break even.

I would recommend you put everything away safely and do some reading. I don't know where the stainless steel thing came from but it keeps popping up. I can't imagine it's coming from a forum member. Stainless steel does not like to react very well. Plain, unpainted steel would have worked better. Search the forum for sulfamic acid.