flux recipe for smelting fines

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

douglas23

Hi everyone,
My first post here, hope it's not a dumb question :) . Having read most of Hoke's book and spending half the day searching the forum for an answer I have not found what I'm looking for > I have about half an ounce of gold fines about 90%+ in purity that were dredged up by a local miner here in Alaska. I'm a jeweler and I would like to make it usable for making wire and bezel strip for stone setting. I don't need absolute purity, 22k is good enough, but I do need it to be workable and not brittle. Previous attempts at melting performed by the miner resulted in a very brittle porous material that is useless for making anything but cute little granules. I've been informed that iron or other base metals are likely the cause and that I need to use a flux containing sodium nitrate as an oxidizer along with silica or glass and borax. I am very familiar with melting, I cast silver all the time, and I have an electric melting furnace with a graphite crucible. My question is what is the ratio of saltpeter:borax:silica, is a broken glass jar ground up into little bits ok to use? are there any other ingredients I should add, and how much should I use for half an ounce of material?

Thanks,
Douglas

douglas23,

Gold or even silver can be cleaned up a little bit (slightly) in a melt with flux, but in reality the improvement is only minor basically, and even if you tried it with the placer gold you still would most likely not improve the gold to make it workable enough to make jewelry out of the impure gold.

The gold needs refined.

Hoke's book will describe the flux used to improve the gold in a melt.
But more importantly her book will help you learn how to refine your gold.

Hoke's book can be found in the book section or links in many of the members signature lines.