Foils dissolved into purple sludge

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

recycle69

Hello everyone,
I am new to this and always found it to be interesting and so got most supplies, and read many forums,and watched many videos on process.
So this is my first attempt, and I am not sure where I or what exaclty went wrong.
I am using dilute nitric, and as I thought i was supposed to. I used 200ml water and 150ml nitric on 158 grams Gf jewelry.I put on heat and off it went,just as i had seen and read about many times, red fuming,and nice boil...when fumes died down, I was seeing nice foils starting to float.I drained off solution and repeated process a 2nd time..everything went well like before,but now seeing many more foils, everything looked great.
I decided to do a 3rd run just to ensure all base metals were out of foils, but this time i used 200ml water,and only 50ml nitric...Boiled for until reaction was very miniscule. Turned off heat and let it sit to cool and when went to rinse all my foils had dissolved and now I am left with only purple sludge,with millions microscopic flakes.
How can I fix this and recover the gold,and where did I go wrong? my nitric is 67% and from everything i have read and seen I was under the impression the dilute nitric would not dissolve foils or gold...So how did this happen?