fresh on the scene

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
A

Anonymous

Greetings folks,

I am a self taught artist-stone carver/pm worker-not a jeweler, but I make the stuff. I get a fair bit of scrap gold in my line of work and when I decided to do jewelry ( I seriously did not see that learning curve coming :shock: ) I bought fella's tools who had passed away. I got alot of stuff I didn't know what it was for, chemicals specifically, like HCl acid, sulfuric acid, mercury-1 lb of it! a fridge compressor hooked up to a battery charger....I stored the chemicals in a closed cool cabinet since I've them- about 2 years now and have just got the bug to refine some of the material I have. I don't anticipate this being a full on refining job but when I make stuff I like to work with pure materials-18k+gold especially and like to do things my self but don't want to die or get sick in the process. Are the chemicals any good still? for basic small amounts of gold (2-5 oz) what would I need to begin refining my own metal. I'm like so not informed on this subject (but now that I'm here I will read everything on the list, this is the only aspect of what I do that I have out-sourced and if I can do this I can bypass the refining fee's and keep everything in house but my scrap pile is building up. As it stands I buy gold coins from banks alloy them myself make my own sheet/wire and do my own casting so I have... a few tools.... and a good torch set up. Any direction would be appreciated. thanks for reading

James

For help with reactions, safety, and abbreviations follow the Guided Tour Link below.

Hoke's book (link in Palladium's signature line) will give you the layman's view of refining.

Search the forum for the particular type of scrap you are going to refine.