getting the gold out of solution and other questions

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rickthenewb

Ok I am new at this but, I just graduated from college with a b.s. in chem and a friend of mine who owns a recycling center asked me if I wanted to maybe get into the recovery/refining business. So I have a few questions: If I dissolve gold connectors and processors in 3 parts HCL and 1 part HNO, how do I get the gold (and other precious metals) out. My second question is I have heard of reverse electroplating and was wondering if they maybe yields better results because I read it uses much more volatile and expensive chemicals. I am open to all comments and information. Thank you

You will possibly want to search on removing base metals using HCL/peroxide, Sulfuric acid cell. Disolving gold in HCL/Clorox. Recovering gold from solutions using Sodium Metabisulfite.

Have paitence, there are a lot of people here to help you.

Download, and read Hoke! Then read more. It's all here on the forum.
dickb

http://tinyurl.com/mfnyhs
Hoke Book

If you're getting quantity of materials from a recycling center you have to be able to process your metals economically to be cost effective. Most big refiners remove the metallic portions off boards by incinerating and separate the ash, which has value, from the metallic portions, which have more value.