Gold meltng question! Please help!

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nicholas

Hello all,

I am new to this so please bare with me.

When it comes to melting scrap gold (like jewelry) into ingots and bars, is it ok to mix all different Karats together (example: 10kt, 24kt,14kt) all in the same crucible? Or will this depreciate the overall value of the potential brick? Is it wiser to segregate the Karat types? Like a 14kt ingot, an 18kt ingot?

I know only so much so I wish to go about this with the most caution necessary.

Thank you for your time!

nicholas said:
Hello all,

I am new to this so please bare with me.

When it comes to melting scrap gold (like jewelry) into ingots and bars, is it ok to mix all different Karats together (example: 10kt, 24kt,14kt) all in the same crucible? Or will this depreciate the overall value of the potential brick? Is it wiser to segregate the Karat types? Like a 14kt ingot, an 18kt ingot?

I know only so much so I wish to go about this with the most caution necessary.

Thank you for your time!

What is your purpose of melting it?

Jim

A great deal depends on your agenda. If your purpose is to sell to a major refiner and you wish to have an assay performed prior to shipment, so you know the content of the ingot in question, that may be acceptable, but you'd have to be vigilant in stirring the heat well, to ensure a homogenous pour.

It is quite common for thieves to melt before selling, thus the gold can't be identified, so consider the fact that by melting your gold, you may bring suspicion upon yourself. Local authorities may make life difficult for you, even if you're legitimate. Make the decision to melt only after considering all the potential problems it can bring.

Harold