Gold plated CPU lids

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

xXthruXx

Hey.

I'm new to gold recovery, i'm doing some reading-up and gathering materials before I try my 1st recovery.

I found these for approx. 10$usd (see the attached photo).
Do you think it's a good price? It's 1kg, lids only.
What method should I use to recover this type of gold from plating?

Thanks in advance for any help clarifying this. : D

Attachments

• 5708433514.jpg
    5708433514.jpg
    113.8 KB
Here is a good thread to start with. http://goldrefiningforum.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=34&t=22826

I don't know the yield of this material but the price for pinless CPU:s from boardsort is $2.75 per pound and that gives a hint.

Göran

You will most likely not recover 10$ worth of gold from these. Not to mention cost of recovery. They are eye candy but in this case more like fools gold.

Not worth the $10.00.

Best way to process them is to soak them in warm HCL to remove the tin plating, wash them real good with water and dry them up and deplate the gold with a sulphuric cell.

Barren Realms 007 said:
Not worth the $10.00.

Best way to process them is to soak them in warm HCL to remove the tin plating, wash them real good with water and dry them up and deplate the gold with a sulphuric cell.
I imagine the tin layer would also be between the copper and the gold plating, if left long enough in HCl with some kind of agitation would the acid eat the tin layer so a gold foil will fall off? Just like AP.

Marco

I think that the plating is nickel under the gold and the tin isn't tin but indium.

This is a lid where I removed the solder part with hydrochloric acid, it's still grey where the solder was.

Celeron-lid.jpg

The gold that was removed with the solder should come down as a fine silt when dissolving the solder.