Gold recovery from HDD Pins. Which is the best process?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kalseo

Hi Gold Refining Forum friends,

I am new to gold recovery/refining and I am just starting, so my question might sounds silly.

What is the best method to recover gold from gold plated pins. I refer to gold plated pins from hard disks. Recently bought more than 30 HDDs very cheap and I think to process the pins.

Kind regards
Kal

Pins from 30 HDD contain not enough gold to start a process. You can expect round about 1-2 g from 1 kg of good pins. The processes would be AP or sulfuric cell, - depending on the quality of the gold plating, - but this will not help you. What will help you is forget all you have seen on youtube or believe to know, reading the guided tour, Hoke's book, Ammens book, using the GRF search and some weeks or month - depeding on your knowledge, only reading. Welcome to the best source of knowlegde and help about refining!

solar_plasma said:
Pins from 30 HDD contain not enough gold to start a process. You can expect round about 1-2 g from 1 kg of good pins. The processes would be AP or sulfuric cell, - depending on the quality of the gold plating, - but this will not help you. What will help you is forget all you have seen on youtube or believe to know, reading the guided tour, Hoke's book, Ammens book, using the GRF search and some weeks or month - depeding on your knowledge, only reading. Welcome to the best source of knowlegde and help about refining!

Thanks mate, yeah I certainly know that this wont be enough to start with. Generally I am planning to double this amount at least and than proceed. I think I will stick to AP as this is probably the easiest one for me which what I already have. I think I've got a good deal 30 HDD for $10 what do you think? Even Aluminum will cover what I have paid for.

Cheers
Kal