Gold yields in mixed chips (complete process)

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tzoax

Greetings. I collected some amount of chips mainly from RAM sticks, PCI cards and graphics and I am planning to process them together and see how much gold I will get, on the first image I have 240.6 grams of RAM chips, on second image 936.8 grams of mixed chips, on third 46.8 grams of high yield GPU chips (only the cap of chips, the bottom part was removed and I will process it separately). All together there is 1224.2 grams of chips. I am planning to incinerate them and process them all together, I will incinerate them in sunday with coal, i will post pictures of every step i do. Any tip or opinion is welcome.1.jpg2.jpg3.jpg

maynman1751 said:

Thank You for the link Maynman, I will try to do as much as I can like that is described, this is my first time processing chips, I hope I wouldn't get into unaspected problems. First I am planning to incinerate chips in coal well, and mix all with water, remove unburned parts and process it again until I made a dust of all plastic.

I'm been persuaded by experience that any/all solder should be separated before further processing - you'll be handling, sifting and sorting the ashes and do not need traces of lead broadcast at the incinerator, work station, water separation stages. Between the hazards of lead, and tins colloidal gels cluttering up processing, it should be worth taking some extra time before your Sunday burn.

After my first reclamation I changed from depopulating with heat to cutting IC legs where possible - then carefully lifting legless ICs using a heat gun and using towel to wipe molten solder clear of each high-value chip.