growing own silver crystals

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Toni Ward

hi i wonder if anyone could help or give me some advice. i am a beginner to growing my own silver crystals however i do have my silver cell built and ready to go. would i be able to use fine silver casting grain instead of making my own silver cemet which i have made previously, or would it be ok to use fine silver casting grain instead of the cemet?
if someone would be able to help me with this i would greatly appreciate it. also can anyone give me the best advice or lead to what the best way of growing your own silver crystals would be? thank you so much and i really appreciate any help you would be able to offer me.

Welcome to the forum.
Casted grains are fine as long as they are not too small.
Cemented silver is too fine and will not work. You need to pour anodes or shot.
Getting nice thick crystals is partially chance and you need a certain level of copper in the electrolyte and a certain concentration of sliver nitrate.
The ratio of anode/cathode surface is also a factor.
You can play with all these variables to get the result you want.
I also think it's a well kept secret that gives one an advantage to create something unique and beatiful to sell.
Knowledge gained by experimenting and research has a price.
Not that i know the secret recipe
I wish i did. 😏

Thank you so much for responding to me i greatly appreciate it.
i just wanted to make sure with the grains thats all as i am a beginner to all this. i agree with you completely about the experimenting.