Hello and help

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

picklepete

Hello guys I'm new to this forum so I will apologized now if I am in the wrong forum.

I was going over the net the other day when I first found out about the whole gold recovery thing so I am very new to this and would like a bit of advice.

I have ALOT of old mobiles. I stripped a few and it seems they have quite a bit of gold/gold plated bits inside them. so I seperated them to the best of my knowledge. Now this is where I kinda worry as to what to do next...

- How do I seperate what is needed from the boards and other components? what is the best way for a rookie like myself?

- How or what is the best way to melt down the gold bits I already have seperated?

I have looked over quite a few videos but none of them seem to be all that clear, hence the reason I am here calling on the professionals :oops:

Any help would be greatly appreciated and I look forward to your replies.

Just to note, I have access to the chemcials and a safe enviroment to use them so that is not an issue.

edit: I think what I need to know is, if I have 1 board from a mobile phone, what steps would I take to get the end metals? thanks. If I start with that then I can build and learn.

what you have may be a good start but not near enough to start with,keep collecting and hoarding and study the forum and read the safety section.dowload a copy of C.M.Hokes book "refining precious metal waste" from the book section and read it as it is the bible of the forum.

good luck and happy refining.

I have lots of other bits and bobs as well but I was going to start with them until I figure out all the correct methods.

I have started reading through the forums so hopefully I will start to undertsand what is what.

Great forum, glad I found it :)

What Geo said and...