Hello I'm New.. and very interested

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tranqmorne

So as you could tell i'm new here on the forum. I have been reading various threads and decided I should say hello.

A long time ago I was interested in the aqua rigua (ck sp) process and bought a DVD. That was about as far as I ever got. But I have found myself constantly coming back to the site and reading more.

I think I am interested in something similar to the (do i dare say) "Shor" like method or something along the lines of electrolosis? i think. I am very new to all of this and know that the more i read the better off i will be. With that being said please feel free to offer your advise as to where to start better understanding the process / and where to start gathering scrap. I am interested in all of the precious metals... Gold / silver / platnium / rodium / paladium ect.

aqua regia

If you have,or can get,an access to jewelry that would be a good place to start.The yields are the highest of any material,other than ore from the ground.
If you are not able to get jewelry then I would suggest starting to locate and collect Escrap.It takes an aweful lot to make a significant yield,however it is quite easy to obtain,most of the time for free.
Oh I almost forgot.....Welcome to the forum.

tranqmorne said:
I am very new to all of this and know that the more i read the better off i will be. With that being said please feel free to offer your advise as to where to start better understanding the process
That's easy. Read Hoke. In her book, you will learn how to identify metals by testing---as well as how to refine. When you have a firm understanding of what is published in Hoke's book, there are precious few examples of material types that you won't be able to process. She teaches the basics, and does it in terms that anyone can understand.