help me please

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

spcake89

I am new to refining and i messed it up. i dissolved some gold in aqua regia and forgot to neutralize the nitric before trying to drop out the gold with smb. reaalizing this i added some urea to neutralize the nitric. i apparently added too much and ended up with extra urea at the bottom so i added more nitric to dissolve the urea and it made even more of a mess and redissolved the gold i let it sit over night hoped that it would drop out the gold. when i checked it in the morning there was a thick yellow froth on top and no gold in the bottom. can anyone help me out or did i ruin this solution beyond repair.

the smb i added didnt drop any gold and it most likely didnt just evaporate and i know theres gold in it cause i added karat gold to the aqua regia how do i get it out i think i may have messed up because i added the smb before the urea. and i think i may have added to much urea and to smb but when i added the extra nitric to eat up the extra urea it ate the gold and smb too and i have no more urea. my other question is the was a thick yellow froth on top of the acid.what was that and did it harm the solution the should be about an ounce of gold in there so its something id really like to figure out how to get it out.

well i read most of hoke and read all of the forum handbook i knowi made the mistake with the urea in my defense it was 5 am in the morning while i was doing this after work so i was probably more tired than i should have been. iknow the mistake i made im asking for help to recover from it since i cant figure it out on my own

And the stannous test says?
We can help you to sort out your mess, but, we need relevent information to work out what advice to give next.