help on stannous chloride

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jd12586

After taking out all the gold from the green solution.I test the solution with stannous chloride and it came back positive. So let it sit for 2 days but no gold. I test it again and still positive. How can I get the gold that leftover. thanks

they told me that it was a board cover with gold and some gold that they peeled off from a plated

it was about 8 oz . I already recover some of the gold about 21 grams. I'm still new to this what does AP mean?

jd12586 said:
it was about 8 oz . I already recover some of the gold about 21 grams. I'm still new to this what does AP mean?

AP is acid peroxide. It is a work around, or newer trick for not using nitric.
What did you use to put your material into solution?

Jim

If you still have free nitric in solution that is why you still get a positive for gold.
Have you read Hoke's book? I think its on page 44 removal of excess nitric acid.

Jim

I don't use urea, you don't need it. Hoke explains how to proceed on page 44 like I said before.
You really should read that book until you understand it before proceeding. You should really explain better what you have done to this point. You said; "they told me that it was a board cover with gold and some gold that they peeled off from a plated"
Does this mean someone else gave you the solution as it is or did you process this? What was this board cover? Were there any metals left in your solution? What are you using to precipitate the gold? It is a lot of guessing for someone to answer you when all the facts are not given. Also a picture of this positive test and solution may help.

jimdoc said:
I don't use urea, you don't need it. Hoke explains how to proceed on page 44 like I said before.