Help processing fiber processor pins.

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

glauco

Hi masters!

I'm running small batches of 41gr/500ml pins/hot HCl 37% following the instructions found on goldnscrap site on fiber processor pins and now, after running the first batch and filtering, I ended up with really small grains of gold and a lot of black powder in my filters after washing it a lot. I was expecting some flakes at least. Is this black powder gold? I'm affraid of losing gold because I'm using a 37% HCl in a 80-90ºC heat instead of 32% HCl (we don't have the 32% in Brazil). I can see no gold grain in the filtered HCl, but I didn't ran any test for gold on it.

Also, the used HCl can be reused a lot of times like the one for fingers?

Very thanks!

No disrespect but running 41 grams of pins isn't going to yield much gold. I'm no expert on e scrap but if you ran a kilo I'd guess you would be lucky to get 6 grams so do the math.
The strength of your HCl won't really cause problems but don't get over exited on the yields.

nickvc said:
No disrespect but running 41 grams of pins isn't going to yield much gold. I'm no expert on e scrap but if you ran a kilo I'd guess you would be lucky to get 6 grams so do the math.
The strength of your HCl won't really cause problems but don't get over exited on the yields.
No, I'm really not expecting much gold at all, I'm concerned if my process are done right. Actually I'm running a splitted 300gr batch. Is not much, but this is the CPUs from almost 200 complete computers, so I guess this will add a little :mrgreen:
Also the pins are now dark brown, no visible traces of gold. Is all correct?

I've never processed pins like that but if you think your acid is too strong then just dilute it with some water to correct strength.
But as Nickvc wrote, your acid strength isn't a problem.

Göran