Help with a newbie

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Drowningbodacius

hi everybody!!
my name is Drowningboda, i am a novice chemist but new to gold refining so
i have a bunch of scrap gold, everything from gold platted copper finger( ddr ram sticks), jewelry, cpu pins, gold plated coax tv prongs, Gold plated ethernet prongs, e.t.c, E.t.c, e.t.c
so i have pretty much every freaking base metal you can think of in my feed
im wondering could i dissolve the base metals by doing this process
1. soak feed in HCL (hydrochloric Acid) for 24 hours
2. strain and wash
3 soak HCL treated feed in HNO³ (nitric acid) for 24 hours
4. strain and wash
that should remove all of the base metals that could contaminate my (Hydrogen Gold Chloride ) 1 and 3 when i place the feed in my Royal Water ( aqua regia ) to be dissolved. or am i going about this the wrong way?

Hokum, is that your process?
It does not sound like a good idea.
Basically you would end up putting your gold into solution with base metals, which is not a good idea, if you spend a little time studying the forum you will understand why, and the proper way to separate, recover and refine your materials.

The first book to read, and study is Hoke's book (found in the book section).

You will find the forum a very good place to learn, and very helpful members, you are expected to do your homework and be respectful of other members, have you read the forum rules?

The general reaction list, guide to the forum and welcome to new members is very helpful (in general chat section).

Each of your ETCs need to be processed differently. Listen to Butcher. Hold on to what you have, keep collecting more, READ! and read again. Your gold isn't going anywhere. If you were expecting a quick ROI, you should just sell what you have collected. Nothing about gold recovery is quick.