Help with iron in gold chloride

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Exhail

HI guys
I have a issue with a solution that I have acquired from a friend who has put it in the too hard basket.
I have been studying the forum for over 4 years and have even produced a few of my own gold nuggets from gold fingers and various cpu and tv parts by using AP and HCL/Cl methods.

Now about this solution, I am told that it's feed material is from the flat white ribbon type of board connectors from the back of plasma and lcd tv's, and that they were placed into AP for processing. When he went to collect the foils the AP solution which had a air stone in it had turned dark brown and thick like runny custard and he need to water the solution down to filter. The only filter material he was able to use was the filter wool that they use in fish tanks which he said worked exceptionally well. After filtering he then torched the material with a LPG gas torch till ash. But this is where I feel he went wrong as he torched the material in a cast iron pot and when he has scrapped the ashes out has added Iron to the ash in the form of rust.

Any way from here he has tried to dissolve the gold from the ash using HCL/Cl and that is as far as he has gotten as he has found it hard to get all the gold to dissolve. I have tested the solution with Stannous and got a strong positive result for gold. The problem is that when the solution has been left to settle there is a layer that has the left over trash from the ash and solids that were in solution and a grey precipitate that is heavy with what looks like undissolved gold foils and gold precipitate.