Help with what process to use on my first project.

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SureShot72

First off, yes I have read "Refining Precious Metals Wastes by CM. Hoke" it stays on my desktop because it needs to be studied constantly.
I do not remember it all, but I do know the safety part by memory. So down to the question or questions.
I have a bunch of scrap. I do intend to process most myself. I recieved a few hundred pounds of Old Ma Bell telephone equipment. I have been clipping on and off for the past 5 years.
I would like it if someone maybe could help me identify some of it. For ex. some contacts I know are palladium, but after reading CM. Hoke, I think there may be platinum in there too. I think I will send this off to a pro. I have much gold. The first I wish to start with looks to be gold pins "I guess plated" over brass? I will attach some photo.
Photo #1 DSCF4277.JPGGold over brass? "When I break a pin in half or cut it looks to be gold solid. I know this cannot be. So what to use if it is gold over brass.
This would be my first project and need to know what process would fit it best.

Photo #2 DSCF4280.JPGThese are "as I was told" solid gold contacts. I think the gold is layered over palladium. I think the stems may be silver.

Last photo #3DSCF4285.JPG I do not know. I aquired from a friend. I know the outside is a thin gold plate, but the inside has these really soft white wires?

I hope I am posting this in the right area.
I really just need a little identification info. Plz forgive my spelling and starting with #1 just let me know what chems to purchase. I do not want to buy too much.
Thanks anyone and everyone.
One last question. What type of situation should I use the "poll question" for?