Hobby Ingots...

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ldebernardi

I collect scrap pieces of metal, mainly Brass and Copper and I want to be able to cast some ingots with the scraps that I pick up. I am new to casting so I am interested in what equipment and processes I should use. I will be casting about 50-100 lbs a week based on the average scrap I collect. I want to cast the weight into 1lb or 1kg ingots. I was looking into getting a Handi-Melt or Electromelt by Kerr but from what I have been reading on here there would be drawbacks to using these machines. What would be the simplest set-up needed to cast the amount of ingots that I am planning on weekly? Please any help would be greatly appreciated. I may be new to all of this but I am dedicated.

Thanks in advance for any information!

Some things to ponder.
Copper alloys may or may not lend themselves to being mixed. Traces of aluminum, for example, can ruin an alloy's ability to cast well. Aluminum bronze is one of the metals you're likely to encounter, so the likelihood that you'll end up mixing them is quite real.

The furnaces you mentioned are limited to volume, plus the crucibles are very expensive and of short duration when used. Being made of pure graphite, they burn away rapidly where exposed to atmosphere, and would burn all the faster when you attempt to melt copper.

A big negative when melting is having a crucible that is quite restrictive of size, which is the reality of the electric furnaces in question. You will be required to reduce the feed to small pieces, which may or may not be an easy chore, depending on the tools you have at your disposal.