How do I recover gold from bleach solution

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

deanstanley

Hi, I'm new to this and need some help. I boiled a few pounds of gold plated jewelry in bleach solution. It took the gold off the jewelry and now have a solution of bleach and gold. After letting it settle there is a clear layer and a brownish mud layer, very definitive. Is the gold in the clear layer or the brownish layer. How do I get it out to smelt Thanks Dean

Dean, when you say "a bleach solution", do you mean HCl/Cl?
If that's the case, then your bleach evaporated long ago, & maybe some of your gold, too! You shouldn't heat the HCl/Cl, its a cold process, & you must allow time for the solution to digest. A better process for gold plate is the sulphuric cell. Check out Lazersteve's website & videos, plus use the search for more information on the process.

Stannous test your solution to find out if any gold is still in solution; if not, maybe some of the sediment is your gold. Do a search on rinsing gold from solution.

Take care & continue reading.

Phil

Phil , it is clorox straight out of the jug. I gues that's hci/cl. I am going to look at the videos you told me thanks Dean

Dean, if its straight clorox, that's out of my league. I've never used that process.

Yes, check out the videos, he even has them for sale. They are excellent!

Phil

Thanks Phil,