How extract Gold & Silver from sulfuric acid solution?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mrgspeed

hello there :)

i have a sulfuric acid solution which contains 2.5% copper , 122 ppm Ag , 39 ppm Au with EC=18.04 ms/cm and pH=4 volume is around 1000 liters. these details came from a lab which is not related to the seller (i gave them a small sample). also apparently lab used AAS method

what is best(cheapest?) way to extract gold and silver from said solution? i also would like to separate gold and silver from eachother too in the end. any advice or helpful link and etc is greatly appreciated as im pretty new to this whole gold extract thing.

i live a a very arid and mostly warm environment if that matters in anyway.

Thank you in advance 🌹

P.S 2: this is almost how the solution looks like initially, this picture is when i evaporated like 50 % of water out of it

photo_2024-01-17_20-45-04.jpg

P.S i dried out about 1 liter of solution by pouring it in to a Becher and putting it in a warm place, (i also added a tiny amount of NaCl salt) it came out like this picture now:

photo_2024-01-17_19-09-01.jpg

Last edited:
Try adding metallic copper to the solution to cement the precious metals. Make sure you mix it well to assure contact of the solution with the copper.
what do you mean by metallic copper exactly? will a piece of copper sheet (copper cathode) suffice if i put it in the solution and stir ? also how can i separate copper, Ag and Au from that each other afterwards?

thanks for the reply btw :)

what do you mean by metallic copper exactly? will a piece of copper sheet (copper cathode) suffice if i put it in the solution and stir ? also how can i separate copper, Ag and Au from that each other afterwards?

thanks for the reply btw :)
It comes down to this:
https://goldrefiningforum.com/threads/when-in-doubt-cement-it-out.30236/