How I can denox with urea,correctly?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mida

Hi People...
I have purchased a kilogram of 99% urea on ebay.I'm new with this chemical substance and I dont know how to use it for the denox.I added some prills to gold solution in AR,expecting to see some effervescence,but nothing.The prills goes in solution,leaving only an oily trail.Can someone explain me the correct process?Thank you.

prills may have a waxy shell, heat your solution, crushing prills helps also , careful adding urea they will foam solution, and boilover is possible. just add till no fizz ( adding to much is also an easy thing to do) and Ph>1.

Nitric has a tendancy to get to a certain concentration and want to boil foam out all at once (no matter which method you use).

I find evaporation solution works better to deNOx, and just using a little urea to test works better for me. DeNOxing Aqua regia is such an important part,that for me Urea is not the way to do it, its too easy to get it wrong, you may have better luck than I do with it? proper evaporation Is better if you ask me.

butcher said:
proper evaporation Is better if you ask me.
I evaporated all of my solutions. It makes no sense to me to add materials to values, especially when further processing may be required. Indications are that urea complicates the recovery of the platinum group of metals. I never could see the value in using urea.

Harold

I noticed that if the solution of urea is hot and I add it to nitric,I got some effervescence.If its cold,I got oly a white foam on th top of the liquid. If I leave the mixed solution of nitric and urea, to cool,I got white crystals.Is it normal for urea?I ask this because Ebay seller makea lot of frauds.....