How much gold in a laptop?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

midaselm

Hi all,

im a newbie to all this , so first let me thank all who have set-up this site . Thanks for not being greedy with your knowledge like the rest of the internet . So refreshing to see people wanting to share knowledge. Ive been wanting to get into urban mining for years and have just started 5 mnths ago. I'Ve been buying scrap gold and silver and Im currently in the process of leaching my first cat converters so cant wait to get my first self made metals and PGM's.

Along the way Ive been offered laptops, mobile phones etc but cant honestly offer anything because Id hate to rip myself off but more importantly dont want to be ripping off other people , so here's my quite obvious question. Has any one here got an average minimum PM content for an average laptop, or has anyone got similar for mobile phones (similar to the PGM content charts that exist for the catalytic converters) ?

I like trying to quantify stuff so as I process my items I'll try keep record of yeilds and hopefully be able to share some yeild data myself sometime !

Elmo :)

Welcome to the forum Elmo.
The information you want is here but I'm afraid I don't mess with e scrap but if you use the search function, top right of your screen, I'm sure you will find that information. I figure that old phones and laptops are fairly low value items unless working and can be sold on, we have members who advertise what they will pay us for certain items so check those too.
Spend some time reading and researching and I'm sure you will come to your own conclusions about what items are worth to you but always remember you still have to recover and refine those values which takes time, chemicals and equipment, not to mention knowledge!
Goid luck and happy searching.