How to eat an elephant.

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Toadstool

Hi all. I have a large (1100 gram) block of what is purported to be a bunch of gold plated pins melted into a brick. What is the best way to even start going about recovering/ refining the gold from this thing? I thought about cutting it up but I don't have any saws.

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

FrugalRefiner said:
The best idea I've heard is to use it to cement other values in your stock pot.

Can you elaborate? I'm still new to this and I've already made way more mistakes than I thought possible.

Your block of melted gold plated pins has very little gold content. The cost of chemicals to process it will likely outweigh the value of any gold you recover.

We use a stock pot to cement out any trace values in our solutions. You can read about the stock pot in the book in my signature line below. Your bar would serve well as a primarily base metal bar to cement out any trace values that might remain in your solutions. As it is consumed, it will leave the tiny amount of gold, if any, along with any other values that may be cemented.

Dave

What about for de-NOx purposes? Instead of neutralizing with sulfamic acid, would putting this in a poor man's AR solution use up all of the nitric acid that may remain?

The bar came from melted pins, copper is only one of the possible base metals, there can also be some metals that can cause problems if used in your solution like tin...

Toadstool said:
What about for de-NOx purposes? Instead of neutralizing with sulfamic acid, would putting this in a poor man's AR solution use up all of the nitric acid that may remain?
That would work but it would also cement any gold in solution.

It could also be used for cementing silver going to a silver cell. The gold would mix with the silver and then report in the slime from the cell.

Göran