how to refine silver chloride out aqua regia

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tj1466

hi my name is tony and i am new at this job i need some help whit refining silver chloride out aqua Regia what is a good way thank you 8)

Tony:
Please do NOT post the same question more than one time on the forum. Regardless of where it is posted, it will be read by those of us that are willing to help.

Take note that I have deleted your other post, a duplicate of this one.

Harold

Very little silver will be in aqua regia as AgCl2, as silver is insoluble as a chloride and silver chloride is also insoluble in acids, some AgCl does get oxidized by the strong acidic Aqua regia to form AgCl2, which is a contaminate for our gold solutions. By adding water diluting the acid will convert it from AgCl2 to AgCl silver chloride a white fluffy powder (note lead chloride also an insoluble chloride,and will look very similar white powder) let this sit overnight for silver chloride to settle, decant and filter solution, silver chloride powder rinsed saved for later removal of lead (boiling hot water) and conversion to silver metal before melting, lye caustic karo syrup method or iron and sulfuric method or aluminum hydrochloric method, you can read up about these on the forum.

butcher said: