I think I screwed up!

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
A

Anonymous

Hello everyone,I have been reading alot of post's and replies over the last few weeks and thought I could takle a project;in which I believe I screwed up.I am new to all this so please bear with me.I was trying a nitric acid soltion(disolved 1/2 cup sn + 16oz Hot distilled water,then mixed with battery acid from auto parts store)to run about 1 pound of misc.processor's(ceramic and fiber type).I tried slowly heating it up on a hot plate for a few hours and still had "white" powder in mix so I filtered the rest of the powder out.Next I tossed in the cpu's and left outside overnight.When I checked them the next morning I found I had a dark,kool-aid green and a bunch more of the white powder in the bottom :cry: I previously filtered the day before.Also alot of the pins were still intact.

At that point I figured I rushed something so I carefully poured off the batch and tried again.I left cpu's in for about 3 days worth this time and now again,some of the pins did fall off but no gold color's;all the pins(including the ones that fell off and stayed on cpu's) now look copper.

So again,I carefully poured off through 3 coffee filters about 3 different time's(using new,clean filters each time) and the first run looks like tan mud.The second one is even darker yet and the third is when I went ahead and caught the pins in the filter.I don't meen to sound stupid,but what did I do wrong?? Is there something I can do to fix this mess up??

Any and all help would be much appreciated.

P.S. The cpu mix consisted of some pentium1's,a couple of celeron's(fiber cpu's),and some amd chips;a few of which were the amd k6-2's but I did pull the plates off of the amd's.

Timmo,